Scotchcoulthard

Reviews

21st July 2017

A wonderful week at Scotchcoultard Farm

Scotchcoulthard Farm and Holiday Cottages, Haltwhistle, Northumberland, NE499NH, United Kingdom

Date of Stay

We had a wonderful stay in Hawthorn Cottage, and were made to feel very welcome. We also very much enjoyed the company of the variety of farm dogs; such sweeties. The swimming pool and games room were a massive bonus; we all swam everyday. The pool kept the children entertained for hours especially when the weather was inclement. A wonderful place to stay, we would recommend to anyone looking for a little bit of everything.

<< New text box >>

Reviewed 7 July 2017

The perfect place to get away and leave the world behind....

Six adults, a baby and dog stayed for four days at HighTipalt Cottage, and the venue was perfect for our needs. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are large and very comfortable and each bedroom had an en suite bathroom. The lounge is comfortable with a wonderful wood burning stove, television and a large dining table . The kitchen is equipped with everything a family would need. Meat and eggs are available to purchase from the farm. The games room provides darts,snooker, table tennis and a variety of games and toys to suit all ages. There is also an indoor pool available.
There is no wifi or phone signal in the cottage, but the signal can be picked up a few metres from the house, and guests are invited to use a landline adjacent to the house if necessary. The cottage is in a very remote location and the area is wild, rugged and beautiful. Hadrian's wall is within easy access and the local Roman museum is very interesting. We would highly recommend a visit to Scotchcoulthard.

 

Reviewed 8 April 2017

Brilliant week at Scotchcoulthard

Just back from a week at Scotchcoulthard - stayed in Hope Sike cottage with our three dogs. Susan and Andy are really lovely and made us so welcome. The cake she left for us on arrival was just delicious and we took slices out with us every day on our walks. The cottage is small but perfectly fine for two people -not to mention three retrievers! We were joined on some walks with Sadie and Heidi, two of their dogs and we couldn't stop laughing at Sadie's antics. Totally recommend this for a get away from it all holiday.Will definitely try to fit in another visit next year. Highly recommended if you like peace and quiet, stunning scenery and the warmest of welcomes. Just wish we'd packed swimming costumes to take advantage of the lovely indoor pool - next time!

 

Reviewed 26 February 2017

hidden gem

We have stopped at Scotchcoulthard loads of times its great to get away into the fantastic countryside of Northumberland.
We always welcomed by one or all the farm dogs
we stopped in Hawthorn cottage which was one of the bigger cottages and there was everything you need and more.Andy & Susan have just got some chicken so we had fresh eggs for breakfast which was nice.
Are dog max loves the place it's not just us who need a break to get away.Looking forward to are next time

 

Aug 2016
 
Won a two night stay in the Hope Sike one bedroom cottage on EBay. Travelled with son aged 10 and one dog (Lola). Found the location easily from directions given. Stopped at Corbridge and Haltwhistle on the way. Both nice locations. Great drive on single track road for last few miles of the journey. Sheep, cows and horses everywhere.....and Hadrians Wall (not very high). Scotchcoulthard is in the middle of beautiful countryside surrounded by animals. Warm welcome from Susan and all of the dogs (Heidi, Meg and Sadie). Shown to Hope Sike which is advertised for two, however our son stayed on air bed in living area. Living area, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom all to a good standard. French doors out to small patio area, garden and some chairs. Wonderful view over the Northumbrian countryside. Kitchen well stocked with fridge freezer, hob and microwave, grill and oven. All utensils provided (including wine glasses). Also table and chairs and lovely home made cake. Their is also the option to buy locally sourced meat. TV with free view. We didn't have phone coverage or internet but that was perfect as we could use the other facilities such as the swimming pool, table tennis table and snooker/pool table. We even played Monopoly. Kieran loved playing with all of the dogs who were in and out of our cottage for the entirety of our stay. They were all lovely natured. We opened the curtains on a morning and they would be there, waiting to be let in. Very cute. Hosts were excellent who made sure that Kieran got the chance to feed the pigs. He loved it. Table tennis, swimming pool and snooker / pool table were all of good quality and enjoyed. Appeared to be available 24 hours. Great walks with dogs nearby, and good local information provided. Excellent accomodation and most dog friendly place we have ever stayed at. You won't regret going.
 
                                        

Susan

 

I am writing to say how impressed we are with the recent changes to the cottages you have made. We have always enjoyed out dog friendly holidays at the cottages but the recent works now make it even better. The freedom we are able to give the dogs is fantastic. Watson always comes away happy and tired after his wonderful walks/runs.

 

We look forward to visiting again very soon

 

Simon Day

                                        ---------------------------------------------

 

 

This was perfect for our dog and the kids. Before we even parked the car we had an extra dog in the car. We generally had 4 dogs in our little cottage even tho we only took 1. Sadie, Heidi and Meg made us so welcome (as did Andrew & Susan) The cottage is in the middle of nowhere. It was spotlessly clean and really well kitted out. Fantastic walking country. Super dog friendly. It was lovely to stay somewhere and feel 100% comfortable with our dog. The owners were as welcoming to our dog as they were to us. We didn't panic if we had a soggy, muddy dog which in comparison to a lot of places made a really welcome change. Lovely holiday

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
 
 
 
 
Aug 2016
 

We have recently stayed at scotchcoulthard and wanted to say it is a great dog friendly place. We have 3 dogs and there is no problem about how many dogs you take as long as they are well behaved. I am a bit fussy in my own home even though I have dogs myself and the cottages are lovely and clean and very well equipped. Had such a good time we are going at new year.
It's great to find a place that loves dogs that is clean well equipped and in a stunning location.i can highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We have recently stayed at scotchcoulthard and wanted to say it is a great dog friendly place. We have 3 dogs and there is no problem about how many dogs you take as long as they are well behaved. I am a bit fussy in my own home even though I have dogs myself and the cottages are lovely and clean and very well equipped. Had such a good time we are going at new year.
It's great to find a place that loves dogs that is clean well equipped and in a stunning location.i can highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple

 

July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our two week break at Scotchcoulthard with our two dogs. To be able to let the dogs have the run of the farm along with your own dogs and others that stayed there was ideal. We were all made welcome and did not have to worry about the dogs during our stay. They were able to wander and explore the farm and meadows to their hearts content, only coming back when tired out or hungry.  Indeed when we wanted to take them out for the day there was a definite reluctance on their part to come along. It was almost as if they were saying that they would prefer to stay and play on the farm. The friendliness of Susan, Andy and family enhanced our stay along with the atmospheric countryside, wide open meadows, which the dogs (and ourselves) thoroughly enjoyed.  With not another building in sight, tracks and trails in abundance, its a dog owners paradise."  Thoroughly recommended.

Best wishes

Chris & Marlene Hewitt, Max & Bailey.

 

 

 

May 2016

We have stayed at scotchcoultard a few times now and it has never disappointed.

The communication from the initial booking via the Internet is excellent, including directions, queries answered and clear instructions on arrival 

 

The location is ideal for pets, it is approximately 5 miles to the nearest road and the drive way is approximately one mile long, great knowing that your dog is safe and secure, with the cattle grids and stone walls surrounding.

Next to it lies the kielder forest, so if your dog wants to stretch their legs even more they have a national park on their doorstep in which they can venture 

On arrival, we are always greeted with a warm welcome by both the owners and their dogs.

It's such a relaxed atmosphere, stress free knowing that our dog can go wherever she likes and is completely safe. This makes our holiday!

 

Andrew and susan's dogs have always welcomed ours into their pack and go with us from walking round the stream into the fields, to simply sunbathing on the patio!

 

The cottages themselves are wonderful. Great size, the facilities and equipment provided means that you literally just need to bring your clothes 

The views from them are outstanding,  the homemade cake provided on arrival is most welcome and worth the couple of hours drive.

We have stayed in a couple of them and they have not disappointed.

 

There is a swimming pool, pool table and table tennis room with board games, which is well worth having a look at.  

 

There isn't anywhere which our dog is not allowed to venture, she thinks of it as her second home. Whilst we are there her collar and lead are redundant. When we have to go both ours and their dogs don't want us to.

 

Anyone with pets looking for a relaxing atmosphere, in a remote and beautiful part of the country will not do wrong booking here.

 

It's a family run business that makes you feel part of their family.

 

Best wishes 

Stephen, gill and jess  ( labrador )

 

Oct 2015

As you know, we’ve been visiting Scotchcoulthard for over four years now, usually several times a year, with our three dogs. We relax as we cross the border into Northumberland, turn on to the Old Military Road and then along the minor roads to Scotchcoulthard. In recent years, we have also keenly anticipated learning what difference you will have made in Scotchcoulthard since our last visit, and you have not disappointed us! You have succeeded in continually improving the accommodation offering. The improvements in Hope Sike, where we have stayed most often, have brought it up to the highest, modern standards, while preserving its country look and feel.

You have done all this without detracting from the other qualities which attract so many return visitors to Scotchcoulthard. The quality of the initial welcome is what, as visitors, we notice first - the cake, the heating on for us softies, everything clean and ready, our grocery order already put away, the restful furnishings. Once we have unpacked, set a fire going and drawn a deep breath of fresh air, we then enjoy other valuable qualities - the high quality of information about what is on in the region, the games room, the pool, the laundry, the animals and poultry and the freedom to wander at will over the farm and the land beyond. Andy and you are the prefect hosts - unfailingly helpful, but not intrusive.

Scotchcoulthard attracts people from a wide area, and they do differ in what activities interest them, but what they do tend to have in common is a willingness to enjoy peace and quiet, and a need to have dogs around the place. Dogs are very welcome at Scotchcoulthard, with no petty restrictions, fuss or bother. Indeed, the place seems to revolve around dogs. Your dogs have the run of the place and mix with visiting dogs, in a relaxed atmosphere. The network of paths within the farm, and the network of forestry tracks round around, are excellent for dogs and their owners to be out in the fresh air together. Our dogs always return home tired, but very fulfilled.

Rhona


 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 February 2014

I would like to express our thanks for such a lovely time at Scotch Coulthard. we were slightly apprehensive as to whether the accommodation would be clean, as it was a 'Dog friendly place'.We were so pleased to see lovely clean cosy cottages, (no doggy smells) fires lit and homemade cakes to welcome us! Both of the cottages were so well equipped with every possible need fulfilled - even fresh ground coffee and extra candles for cosy evenings! Our dogs loved it, lots of new pals to run round with in such a safe environment.
We would not hesitate to recommend it to all our country loving friends. Loving forward to our next visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
 
 
 
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I've stayed in both Hope Sike & Acorn. Each time it was a great place to unwind (esp. in front of the log fire).

It's Dog friendly and supplied with everything u need esp now many supermarkets deliver.

This is a great farm cottage with acres of fresh air

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
 
 
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just returned from our first trip to Scotchcoulthard and it will be one of many. We found our little piece of heaven. So much land to wander around, walks in the forests, streams to play in. The dogs loved every minute and so did we. Andrew and Susan are very helpful but do not intrude on your stay. The cottages have everything you could need for a week away and are cosy and clean. It is wonderful to not be charged extra to take dogs and there are no limits to how many you can take! No added costs, supermarket deliveries to the front door, functional swimming pool, games room, lots of books, lovely friendly farm dogs, pigs, hens and Turner the horse all set in the outstanding beautiful countryside made for an absolutely fantastic holiday. We were all very sad to leave but will be back!

 
 
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 May 2014

My boyfriend had booked this as a surprise present for my 21st which was in December but as our dog was still just a puppy he had booked it for May when the weather was due to pick up. He did not disappoint me!!

Scotchcoulthard is in the middle of 178 acres of sheer blissful nothingness!! Just what you need when you are both busy at work back to back. I am honestly quite shocked that there are any bad reviews on this place. We stayed in Acorn cottage which was a lovely small 1 bedroom with wood beams , stove fire and a cute little kitchen space.

We were immediately greeted by their super friendly doggies who were more than happy to welcome themselves into our cottage to give our pup a bit of company. We had a nice little chat with the owners who also pre warned us about a House Martin nest above our bedroom window which was amazing to watch in the mornings when they were feeding the young. Our dog felt right at home running around on the vast amount of land. The cottage was clean and ready for us to turn into our home away from home , we had very comfortable nights sleep every night enjoying the Dark Skies above.

I had such fun in the pool- yes a little maintanance would make it 1000 times better but to say we could pretty much have it to ourselves most days - i wasnt turning my nose up. We were aware beforehand the games room was going through referbishment so were not dettered by some of the bare woodwork. It was lovely playing pool and table tennis towards the end of the week when the weather deteriorated.

I will advise that if you dont love dogs as much as i do this may not be for you, if you are expecting pristine cottages with modern features then you are looking for the wrong type of holiday. I loved having no phone signal in the cottage (with access to good WiFi if needed) walking the dog down the stream and waking up early to see the pigs and horse were parts of this holiday we loved. I thought that both the owners and their whole family were very kind with us and gave us lots of tips as to where is best to go and when.

We spent the last two days of the holiday in the cottage during the day because the weather was pretty miserable and we had done four days of hiking prior.. it was so perfect just to snuggle in front of our big stove fire and enjoy peace and quiet.

I can not recommend this place highly enough for its fantastic location, room and friendly service.Will definitely be returning.

 
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was now our 3rd visit to this wonderful retreat in the middle of nowhere.

If you want a quiet place to get away from it all, Provide you with excellent accomodation, plenty of fresh air, and a good base from which to explore the delights of Northumberland then this is the place for you.

All the cottages are clean, tidy and well equiped, and have lots of little touches that make it feel just like home. Well equiped kitchen, ensuite bathroom, and a big open fire are just a few things that keep us coming back. Being dog owners these cottages are perfect and the dogs just love running around in the open spaces and mixing with the owners dogs who always end up in our cottage joining us for breakfast.

Best of all the owners Susan and Andrew care and listen, nothing is too much trouble.

Top Tip: dont mess around get ASDA to deliver the weeks shopping, they will deliver your online order, direct to the cottage, at the time of your choice - saves a lot of messing around

Highly recomended, you wont be dissappointed.

 
 
 
 
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just returned from a week long stay in 'Acorn' cottage, part of Scotchcoulthard farm. We love being outdoors in the countryside and you get this at Scotchcoulthard in abundance. I am a keen runner and I could run through miles of forest track, almost from the front door.

The cottage itself is compact and cosy. The delicious homemade welcome cake went down very well (and quickly). The double bedroom had a handy corner recess for a camp style bed, which did not make the room feel too cramped. Spent time watching the house martins who had nested right outside the bedroom window. We were fortunate enough to see the cute fledgings sat on the roof looking at us through the window.

Our 3 year old son loved this place - a big lawn to run around on at the back of the cottage and bushes to make dens in. Plus the back terrace attracted the evening sun. The kitchen was a long galley style and well equipped. There is a small table to eat at and myself, husband and boy sat round it without feeling cramped.

The property is spring fed water so the shower is not a 'power shower' but when you stay in such remote stunning locations, then this is to be expected - we'd trade in gallons of gushing hot water for the views and character of Scotchcoulthard any day. There are very small windows in the lounge as (I think) the property is listed so they would be unable to put larger ones in when it was converted. Didn't bother us; we liked its character and quirkiness and the light was adequate.

Lots of friendly dogs ambling around, which all added to the character of the place. My son made friends with Sadie dog, who was very good with him.

We knew the games room was undergoing repair before we arrived so we were not deterred. The pool is big enough to get a decent swim in. Yes, it's a bit worn but we weren't expecting a spa. For us having a pool and games area on site at all was a bonus, especially considering how reasonable the price of the accommodation was. Susan, Andrew and family were helpful and friendly and we had such a relaxing and happy family holiday here that we plan to return again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
 
4 of 5 stars

This was an amazing find and we shall definitively be back. Our journey to find this amazing place was stunning in itself, having turned off the main road and traveled for a few miles, you start to cross open moorland on a single track road which eventually leads to a track which crosses open farm land down to the farm. Its so picturesque ! although we didn't have a dog (the landlord appeared almost disappointed) they appear to be very welcome and we adopted one of the farm dogs each morning as it seemed to know when breakfast was :-) just beautiful, peaceful and quite, oh and very dark. not a street light for miles.
The cottage we stayed was called the Byre, it felt very lavish but still cottagy, rustic and homely - you have to see it to appreciate the large wood burner, the well equipped kitchen, the luxurious feel bathroom and amazing beds!
The pre lite fire and the fresh cake on arrival was also very much appreciated.

Feb 2014

scotch Coulthard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would like to express our thanks for such a lovely time at Scotch Coulthard. we were slightly apprehensive as to whether the accommodation would be clean, as it was a 'Dog friendly place'.We were so pleased to see lovely clean cosy cottages, (no doggy smells) fires lit and homemade cakes to welcome us! Both of the cottages were so well equipped with every possible need fulfilled - even fresh ground coffee and extra candles for cosy evenings! Our dogs loved it, lots of new pals to run round with in such a safe environment.
We would not hesitate to recommend it to all our country loving friends. Loving forward to our next visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family

 

 

 

Jan 2014

“dog heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have been, the location is remote however scenic, a long walk to the nearest pub, however there are lots of local walks and Hadrians wall is not that far away. Will be back next year
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple

“dog heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have been, the location is remote however scenic, a long walk to the nearest pub, however there are lots of local walks and Hadrians wall is not that far away. Will be back next year
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple

“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 January 2014

We found this place by chance using our mobile for a pet friendly place to stay for one night.
We arrived on a monday and the place was so very welcoming and friendly that we decided to stay another night which turned into a week. While typing this we have arranged to stay on for another week.
Our german shepherd loved this place as much as we did. The owners dogs come on walks with us daily, they come in the cottage (if you dont mind them to) and sit with us while watching telly.
The owners are so very friendly and will do anything to make you happy.
The grounds and surrondings are breath taking and beautiful.
The town its self has everything you could possibly need and only a 15min drive.
Cottages are cosy and traditional with no complaints.
All in all i simply can not put down in enough words of how amazing this place is and if you want to get away from it all then this is it.
Carters from south shields but feeling a blissful million miles away
Stayed January 2014, travelled with family

 

Nov 2013

would just like to say  how much we enjoyed our week at scotchcoulthard. we have never done a farm holiday before. The roads round about were lovely and quiet and the scenery is just amazing, thank you so much, will be recommending you, and your part of the world to family and friends.
best wishes. linda and harry brown.

Jun 2012

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 June 2013
 

Where do you start?

We found this place by simply looking through google for a place that was dog friendly, looked at the website and booked, looked ok and just what we needed.

The place to say the least far exceeded our expectations.

We stayed in the Hawthorne cottage for 7 days. The cottage itself is wonderful, big open fire, big kitchen, ample room in the bedrooms. DVD played, sky TV

Set 2 miles of the main road you are well away from everyhting but all you need is there. The owners are alweays on hand and made us feel most welcome and were there if we needed or wanted anyhting. The gardedns are lovely and one day it was sunny and we wree just haoppy to throw a rug on the grass and lie in the sun.

Only one very minor complaint the bed was a little unconfortable, but thats just my preference.

If you want to relax this is the place, so good we have booked to go again

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family

Apr 2012

“Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013
We have just returned from a fantastic five days at scotchcoulthard and what a place a must see for everyone, far from hussle and bustle and just what the doctor ordered if your looking for some time to relax and recuperate with the open fire. Towns as local as Hexham and haltwhistle within driving distance for the essentials and a days shopping. Would highly recommend a visit we will surely be back. Forget calling the Samaritans get yourself a week here.

Colin and Kathleen Lawson

 

Oct 2012

A wonderful cottage set in the most idyllic location. Remote enough for peace and quite but close enough to amenities. Perfect for dog walking and the kids to explore the forests and streams.
The owner Susan and Andy are always there when needed and are go above and beyond to help with any problems when requested. A place to recommend to all who want a bit of time out to recharge.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family

Sep 2012

May I add to all the praise for the wonderful location, the surprisingly big Swimming Pool & Table Tennis room, Susan's utter kindness & generosity - all so true - with our own experience of Roy's Room:- Two of us spent spent 5 days there before being joined by the rest of the family, who revelled in The Byre. That, of course, was stunningly luxurious & spacious, & we spent a lot of time with them there, but returned with joy to the peace & comfort of Roy's Room for a second week. I can assure you that Roy's Room works really well as an overflow in conjunction with the cottages, but we found it a delight in its own right - especially the continuous warmth of the bathroom! The use of a big dining room & kitchen just next door made it far more versatile than just a B & B! We had taken a tent (as being part of the "overflow" of the main party) but found R.'s R. the most superb camping imaginable for those a little more senior (ladies in our 70s & 80s!). Thank you, Susan, for a really happy holiday.

20th August 2012
Many thanks to the owners, for a very friendly 4 night stay, in the Hope Sykes cottage it was clean and provided all the basic stuff you need, it was a novelty to use a coal fire again with plentifull supply of logs and coal included, very comfortable, we chose to stay here as we wanted to take our 2yr old cocker spaniel, who made friends with the 3 farm dogs, she was aloud to wander round the cottage we did have to keep and eye on her with the ducks and chickens tho, the road to the farm is a lovely ride through grazing sheep and forests, all in all a lovely break.


19th August 2012
After hours of trawling the internet trying to find a proper pet friendly cottage (i.e. no additional 'charges' or rules about them being kept on leads etc) I stumbled across a website which listed Scotchcoulthard as a proper dog friendly place. Luckily, there was a few days availability at their one bed cottage 'Hope Sike' and we managed to get it booked and paid for after an e-mail or two to Susan, who was extremely friendly and informative throughout.

We were lucky enough to secure a lift to the place as we are not car owners(although again Susan was very helpful and was even kind enough to offer us a pick up if we had needed it) but I should probably mention the route up is probably better for experienced drivers who have larger cars (our lift was in an old Toyota Starlet which managed the trip well enough even weighed down with our bikes - but the track to the farm did leave the driver a bit worried as it was quite bumpy!).

Once we arrived, we were greeted by Susan who told us everything we needed to know for our stay. The cottage was ready for us, and we let ourselves in and were pleasantly surprised by how airy and spacious it was - the ceilings are very high with lovely skylights so you never felt closed in or claustrophobic.

The cottage was very well equipped for our stay, and was extremely cosy at night - especially once my partner got the fire going (we were told to help ourselves to coal and wood from the shed which was nice). We felt very comfortable there and didn't want to leave!

However, the true winner for us was the location. Just on the edge of Wark Forest, with acres of farm land to explore, our pet dog Molly was in her element and just loved it. One day we cycled up to Wark and back (and had a very pleasant meal at Battlesteads which is a very nice dog friendly pub), another day was spent roaming around the farm (again Susan was happy to recommend some nice walks were Molly could have a good run) and we spent our final day walking along Hadrian's Wall to Housesteads. All this was without access to a car, and we didn't need one. Again Susan and Andy offered to pick up anything we needed from Haltwhistle which was very kind although with eggs, bacon, butter and sausages to purchase from the cottage communal kitchen, we didn't need to take them up on their offer.

Although there are 3 (or 4?) other guest cottages on the site, which were all booked during our stay, it never felt like we were overlooked or on a holiday complex - it was still very private and relaxing.

We never made use of the gamesroom or pool so can't comment on those facilities extensively, but we did see these being used by other guests so they seem like an excellent bonus for people with families.

Overall I'd just like to say if you're looking for somewhere beautiful, relaxing and dog friendly, then I couldn't recommend Scotchcoulthard enough. Yes, there are a few rough edges  - i.e. low water pressure because the cottages are spring fed and not mainline, but give me rough edges and somewhere where my dog can run to her heart's content any day of the week!

We did have to keep Molly on her lead around the cottage itself (although at night we let her go on the lawn at the front) just because there are chickens and ducks roaming about (and she thought it was great to try and run towards them) but literally a minute away from the farm there are meadows where she could run around without bothering anyone or anything!

We shall certainly be looking to return, as we loved every minute.


13th August 2012
i used the pool every single day with my wife and kids and was even given a whiteboard to write down times when i would want it for private use - which i did every single day of the holiday!! the owners are amazingly kind hearted and nice people to deal with who want to make sure that their guests have the most wonderful time. They were there when you needed them but very unintrusive. my 3yr old got a free horse riding trip around the field and was in love with the kitten by the time we left. i think had we stayed another week she would have also loved the dogs and been brave enough to stroke them. the grounds were beautiful and the cottage was spacious clean and comfortable and the games room provided extra entertainment on a rainy day! Thank you for a fantastic holiday and we are looking forward to returning in the near future. The hibberts

5th June 2012
as a family of six we wanted to stay somewhere special for the jubilee weekend,we were not disappointed the owners were fantastic hosts who pulled out all the stops to make our family feel welcome, from allowing us to join in their celebrations with their freinds and family to baking us cakes and allowing us to share there beautiful surroundings, which included their pets and live stock. we were made so welcome and the whole expeirence is now a cherished memory to our family hadrians wall is a must seen attraction and the natural veiws were priceless ..we would highly recommend it.

28th May 2012
I have stayed in Scotchcoulthard cottages on three occasions now (having just returned from my third stay). The most recent trip was a present for my parents and the three of us enjoyed it immensely. Having travelled up from London this place is such an amazing contrast to City Life and I feel so relaxed after my stay here.

Previously I have also stayed here with groups of friends for a couple of birthday occasions and I think there is a little bit of something for everyone - the place is especially convenient if you have a dog too (and if you don't have a dog then the farmhouse dogs Heidi, Jan and Meg are almost certain to make themselves known to you and are the friendliest dogs you are likely to meet and got on really well with our Red Setter).

I've stayed here at different times of the year and although it gets cold we found that our cottage (The Byre) heated up in no time thanks to the wood burner and central heating system. I'd previously stayed in the High Tipalt cottage which is sadly no longer available but the Byre cottage was more than a perfect alternative being incredibly light and spacious with two very good sized bedrooms and a big lounge area.

1st July 2012
We have just returned after our second visit to Scotchcoulthard and again had a wonderful time. We stayed in Hawthorn Cottage with our 3 children and 2 dogs. There is plenty of room and everything you need for a lovely relaxing break. Once again Susan, Andrew and their children made us more than welcome and nothing was any trouble for them. The kids absolutely love this place especially the swimming pool and games room (which we had trouble getting them out of), our two dogs thoroughly enjoy it too, and get along great with Meg, Jan and Heidi. We would definately recommend Scotchcoulthard and can't wait to return.

21st April 2012
We have just returned from a family holiday and stayed at Hawthorn Cottage. 2 members of the group completed Hadrian's Wall as this was centrally located and an excellent base. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine and a plate of hot scones. The 2 children and third member of the family had a wonderful time on the farm. The children fed the lambs, held ducklings, collected eggs, fed pigs, played with the dogs, hearded sheep and sat on a boar! The pool was great also for the kids. The cottages were cosy and you get to light your own coal/wood fire. There are plenty of walks as you are secluded in a picturesque spot, but only 10 minutes from the main Military B road of Hadrian's Wall with 2 pubs in driving distance. Carlisle and Newcastle are within 1 hours drive. We took the kids to Walby farm near Carlisle and the Metro Centre in Newcastle. We also pony trekked on the Moors from Sinderhope riding centre about 30 minutes away. You do not need to bring towels as they are provided for the pool and cottage. They are decent sized bath towels and bubble bath provided. Hot water bottles also and blankets to add that cosy feeling. The owners are extremely welcoming and can't do enough for you. They provide floats for the pool and balls. The dogs are friendly if you are not a dog lover. I myself never thought I was but took one of the dogs for a 3 mile run through the forest. They have their own produce (bacon, eggs, and sausages) to buy. The coal and wood is all provided, as is the dishwasher powder. All-in-all none of us wanted to come home as this is a lovely relaxing get away with plenty of things to do for the children. We will be returning.


31st January 2012
My partner and I have just returned from a 2 night stay in the Acorn Cottage (sleeps 2). What a wonderful quaint place to stay. Acorn cottage is very cosy and perfect for 2 people we stayed for 2 nights but we wish we had booked for the whole week.

The kitchen had everything you need with added extras, tea, coffee, washing up liquid etc. very handy if you had forgotten anything!

The living room was small but perfect as we went in January it was very cold all day so the smaller area to heat the better, I would advise if possible (in winter) to keep the fire going as the heating is on timer and works from the main house (if all else fails you have a spare blanket in the bedroom).

The bedroom is of a very decent size and the bed is massive and super comfy it makes getting up in the morning even harder! The bathroom is very clean however the shower is not that great but my partner was already pre-warned about this prior to our visit but you have a bath to use to ease any aches and pains from your long walks.

We took our puppy along with us and he had so much space outside he did not want to come in! The owners also have Labradors who are also very welcoming and made a few visits into the cottage to see us.

The views are spectacular and it is so quiet you can hear a pin drop. We will most certainly be returning back to the cottage but we will wait until summer time so we can make use of the area out of the back.

A definite must if you enjoy walks, views, peace and quiet.


20th November 2011
Third visit...just wished we had found it years ago..... Had the Romans on the wall located it, they would never have left! Hospitality, second to none. Walks, tremendous. Scenery, breathtaking. Don't forget to take the dog biscuits and you'll have friends for life. For those that don't know how to start a real coal fire...good luck... for those that can remember, there is plenty of logs, coal and paper and for those that can't be bothered, just switch on the central heating! Heated indoor pool, games room, tv, dvd etc for the techno phobes. Night lights? not required.....just look up...stars are all you'll see! Once parked up, if you've brought food and drinks...then you will save a fortune on car fuel as, there is no reason to use it again unless you pay the local pub a visit...Twice Brewed 5 miles ish by car. Excellent real ales, good homely food and on our recent visit 72 rums!!!!! Scotchcoulthard is simply a great place to chill........relax....and unwind.

15th July 2011
My husband and I stayed in Acorn Cottage(sleeps2) .The bed was like a parade ground, massive!! but very very comfortable.If you are over 6ft or like plenty of space its for you. The cottage it self was well kept ,clean and we had every thing we needed. We asked for a Cd player as we dont watch much tv and with in 15mins we had one. Andrew and Susan made sure we enjoyed our stay. We either went walking or cycling during the day then went for a swim when we got back to the cottage, The swimming pool isnt deep but you can swim with no problems. We had a escourt every morning we went out ,as the lovely black labs(dogs)used to walk up the long drive with us. The drive up to the cottages is the only gripe we had as it was full of pot holes ,.. This is a lovely quite ,remote place, NO Noise,loud music or amusements. If you like out of the way places ,you can relax and unwind then this is the place for you., Will be going again


18th May 2011
My husband and I stopped in the one bedroomed Hope Sike cottage for 5 nights with our three dogs just after easter and had a brilliant time.

Scotchcoulthard is a great place to come if you love rustic charm and the chance to get away from it all. There are walks galore from the door with the edge of the Kielder forest bordering the property's land. We were lucky to have amazing weather the whole time we were there and so we didn't end up taking the car out once during our stay and instead spent every day on long walks through the fields and forest. It was also great fun exploring the farm - especially as there were piglets and lambs galore whilst we were there, and the owners three labradors are gorgeous and really friendly.

The cottage we stopped in was fantastic - spacious for two but cosy at the same time. It was stocked with everything you'd need - right down to a cafetierre, a hairdryer and hot water bottles! They have thought of everything. On our arrival, the owners had left us a welcome bottle of wine and some gorgeous handmade scones which was a really nice touch. We had also arranged for a Waitrose delivery (local branch Hexham) to arrive just after us and so that meant we were nicely stocked up on food for our stay.

In the evenings after our long walks, we would curl up by the coal fire and read or watch DVDs. We didn't want to leave but felt really refreshed and relaxed when we did.

We will definitely be back!


25th March 2011
We went to Scotchcoulthard for a mini break and took 3 dogs with us and stayed in the Hawthorn Cottage. When we arrived the fire was roaring and there was a bottle of wine and freshly baked homemade cake waiting for us. The beauty of the area is outstanding and totally remote, with sheep and cows in the fields and free range chickens running all over which gives the added bonus of free range eggs for breakfast.. We spent lots of time taking the dogs around the 180 acres which the dogs loved, running through the streams, jumping ditches and hunting through the forests. The owners were extreamly friendly and couldnt be helpfull enough, giving us advice on where to go and what to do, in the end we were more than happy to stick around the cottages and stay away from civilisation lol. We were never bored the time we were there.
We went back the following year and took our two young neices with us aged 5 and 7 and they had a fantastic holiday splashing in the streams feeding the chickens and also had a go at bottle feeding the pet lambs that Susan and Andy had at the time. They enjoyed swimming in the pool and playing in the games room but spent much of their time in coats and wellies running around the meadows with ours and Susans dogs. The children that live there are also very friendly and my nieces really enjoyed going out to play with them. They also enjoyed walks along hadrians wall and visiting the Robin hood tree and never got bored, hardly watched any tv at all and slept like logs all night every night. I would highly recommend going at staying at Scotchcoulthard espiecially with young children and dogs as it gets them away from sitting in front of the tv screen and computer games.

24th March 2011
I have visited Scotchcoulthard on many occasions and fail to get bored of the superb scenery in its rural location and of the many things to do there and around in the nearby attractions.

My most recent visit was this December and after our triumphant battle to beat the snow we managed to arrive safely and were greeted with a warm welcome. Although we chose not to risk the icy conditions and stayed on location we never ran out of things to do. With numerous forest walks and hills to toboggan down there was never a dull moment. The rough and rugged landscape is truly a fantastic sight to behold especially when covered in glistening snow and ice.

We stayed in High Tipalt with its large open plan kitchen/living room and with a large roaring fire it was the perfect location to sit back and relax after a long day of exploring the wilderness. It has three large bedrooms all with en-suite facilities are extremely comfortable meaning you are able to get a great night’s sleep.

To put into short, Scotchcoulthard is a fantastic holiday location and i would highly recommend it to anyone who is in need of a good relax or wanting to have an outdoor adventure. Scotchcoulthard is perfect whatever your needs.

24th March 2011
We visit Scotchcoulthard most years as we have 2 childeren aged 10 and 17 and both look forward to each hoilday. It is the perfect escape for adults, children and dogs. The cottages have a wonderful rustic feel and are warm and cosy. Although remote there are many things to do min the local area. Both Hexham and Carlise are are short drive if you feel the urge for a town. the roman museam, Vindoland and housesteads fort are all 10-15 minutes from the cottage and Kielder water is a plesant if a litle bumpy ride via the Kielder forest (4x4 recomended in wet weather).
Andy and susan the owners are always on hand if needed and we are always greeted with a wonderful cake and a bottle of wine along with a roaring fire already if the weather is cold.
There are many wonderful walks in the area so that can wear out even the most bouncy dogs. You can have shopping delivered from the local tesco or waitrose on the day of your arrival and Susan and Andy will, with notice,ensure it is in the correct cottage and place frozen products in the freezer for you. All in all a wonderful Family holiday location to escape the stress of every day life

25th January 2011
scotchcoulthard came recommended by some doggie friends of ours............and we weren't disappointed........it was totally awesome.
if you are looking for somewhere you can feel totally away from the rest of the world then the search is over....... book one of these cottages :0)
we stayed in high tipalt for the first week of february 2010.........me my husband our 2 boys 9 & 11 and our 3 labradors.
we spent the days cooking late breakfasts going for long long walks with our dogs and sometimes heidi too (one of the owners labs),she liked to tag along sometimes and had so much fun playing with our youngest lab frank :0) cooking dinner and watching dvd's in the evenings.
the scenery is spectacular and you feel as if you are in another country.............a small stream winds it's way through the land and the boys liked to splash about in that in their wellies.
making toast on the open fire is a real treat for the boys too.
this place makes your eye's open wide at it's beauty........... you will slow to a pace you had long forgotten existed........ it's totally great !!
we are going back again this february................... looking forward to it so much.taking my mum plus 3 more dogs this time.
our boys are 10 and 12 now and will be taking their bikes this time for a bit of mountain biking as well as walking.

book it you won't be disappointed :0)

We are located at:

Scotchcoulthard Farm & Self-Catering Holiday Cottages

 

Andrew and Susan Saunders
Scotchcoulthard Farm

Haltwhistle

Northumberland

NE49 9NH

Contact us today!

If you have any queries please contact us:

 

+44 1434 344470

info@scotchcoulthard.co.uk

 

Or use our contact form.

 

Click here for availability.

 

Click here for our Blog

Get social with us.

LAST MINUTE OFFERS

Autumn 2017 Offers

From 1st October until 23rd  December:

4 nights for the price of 3

or

3 nights for the price of 2

in all cottages. The pool will be on through October.

October Half Term Availability

 

Hawthorn is available from from Sat 28th October, 7 nights @ £690.

The pool will go off at the end of this week.

LATEST NEWS

SWIMMING POOL

 

Due to popular request the pool will be on for Christmas. The only cottage available now is Hawthorn:

7 nights @ £730 (23-30 Dec)

4 nights @ £490 (23-27 Dec)

3 nights @ £360 (27-30 Dec)

Print Print | Sitemap
© Scotchcoulthard Farm & Holiday Cottages

Call

E-mail